The light years

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
In 1937, the coming war is only a distant cloud on Britain's horizon. As the Cazalet households prepare for their summer pilgrimage to the family estate in Sussex, readers meet Edward, in love with but by no means faithful to his wife Villy; Hugh, wounded in the Great War; Rupert, who worships his lovely child-bride Zoe; and Rachel, the spinster sister.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 374a7740-b530-e7dc-790b-1956e0779cb5
full_title light years
author howard elizabeth jane
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2018-03-06 01:08:37AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Balcon, Jill.
author Howard, Elizabeth Jane, 1923-
author2-role Balcon, Jill.|Narrator, hoopla digital.
author_display Howard, Elizabeth Jane
available_at_pitkin Pitkin Library
detailed_location_pitkin Pitkin County Library
display_description In the tradition of Evelyn Waugh and E. M. Forster, the first book in this critically acclaimed multigenerational saga about an upper-middle-class family in Britain before, during, and after World War II recreates a vanished world. As war clouds gather on the distant horizon, Hugh, Edward, and Rupert Cazalet, along with their wives, children, and loyal servants, prepare to leave London for their annual pilgrimage to the family's Sussex estate. There, they will join their parents, William and Kitty, and sister, Rachel, at Home Place, the sprawling retreat where the three brothers hope to spend an idyllic summer of years gone by. But the First World War has left indelible scars. Hugh, the eldest of his siblings, was wounded in France and is haunted both by recurring nightmares of battle and the prospect of another war. Edward adores his wife, Villy, a former dancer searching for meaning in life, yet he's incapable of remaining faithful to her. Rupert desires only to fulfill his potential as a painter, but finds that love and art cannot coexist. And devoted daughter Rachel discovers the joys-and limitations-of intimacy with another woman. A candid portrait of British life in the late 1930s and a sweeping depiction of a world on the brink of war, The Light Years is a must-read for fans of Downton Abbey. Three generations of the Cazalet family come to unforgettable dramatic life in this saga about England during the last century-and the long-held values and cherished traditions that would soon disappear forever.
format_category_pitkin Books, eBook
format_pitkin Book, eBook
id 374a7740-b530-e7dc-790b-1956e0779cb5
isbn 9780671709075, 9781504034913
item_details hoopla:MWT11593157||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Hoopla||||Available Online||||, ils:.b11408844|.i18398236|Pitkin County Library|FICTION H8485ca1|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||pc||
itype_pitkin , Adult book
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_pitkin FICTION H8485ca1
owning_library_pitkin Pitkin County Library
owning_location_pitkin Pitkin Library
primary_isbn 9780671709075
publishDate 1990, 2016
record_details hoopla:MWT11593157|eBook|eBook||English|Open Road Media ,|2016.|1 online resource, ils:.b11408844|Book|Books||English|Pocket Books,|[1990]|434 pages ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_pitkin hoopla:MWT11593157||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|false||||, ils:.b11408844|.i18398236|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|96,97,98,99|||
series Cazalet chronicle, Chivers audio books
series_with_volume Cazalet chronicle|v. 1., Chivers audio books
subject_facet Domestic fiction, Electronic books, Families -- England -- Sussex -- Fiction, Fiction, Historical fiction, Sussex (England) -- Fiction, Talking books
title_display The light years
title_full The light years / Elizabeth Jane Howard, The light years [electronic resource] Howard, Elizabeth Jane, 1923-
title_short The light years
topic_facet Electronic books, Families, Talking books