Casting off

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
The fourth volume of the Cazalet Chronicles opens just as World War II has ended, continuing this critically acclaimed family saga perfect for fans of Downton Abbey The war is over, but for the Cazalets-and England-the challenges continue. Against the backdrop of a crumbling empire, the family soldiers on in the wake of disappointment, heartbreak, and tragedy. Returning home after five long years, Rupert Cazalet struggles to adapt to civilian life back in England. And his wife, Zoe, harbors a guilty secret. Young wife and mother Louise Cazalet, trapped in a loveless marriage to a famous portrait painter, searches for a way out. Cazalet cousins Polly and Clary must face life in a new world, their hopes and ideals changed forever by the ravages of war. And Rachel's self-sacrificing nature could cost her her relationship with Margot Sidney. But the family comes together again as three generations of Cazalets struggle to hold onto Home Place, the beloved Sussex estate that has been their refuge and their heart. Against the titanic sweep of history, as they are tested by infidelities, divorce, unimaginable loss, and the promise of renewed love, the Cazalets try to cast off the sins and sorrows of the past and sail bravely toward the future.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780671534301
9781504034944
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 6027f144-5acb-9c4a-c1cb-b47e9d37fa69
Grouping Title casting off
Grouping Author howard elizabeth jane
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-03-02 01:49:41AM
Last Indexed 2019-03-21 04:37:26AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Howard, Elizabeth Jane.
author2-role hoopla digital.
author_display Howard, Elizabeth Jane
available_at_pitkin Pitkin Library
detailed_location_pitkin Pitkin County Library
display_description The fourth volume of the Cazalet Chronicles opens just as World War II has ended, continuing this critically acclaimed family saga perfect for fans of Downton Abbey The war is over, but for the Cazalets-and England-the challenges continue. Against the backdrop of a crumbling empire, the family soldiers on in the wake of disappointment, heartbreak, and tragedy. Returning home after five long years, Rupert Cazalet struggles to adapt to civilian life back in England. And his wife, Zoe, harbors a guilty secret. Young wife and mother Louise Cazalet, trapped in a loveless marriage to a famous portrait painter, searches for a way out. Cazalet cousins Polly and Clary must face life in a new world, their hopes and ideals changed forever by the ravages of war. And Rachel's self-sacrificing nature could cost her her relationship with Margot Sidney. But the family comes together again as three generations of Cazalets struggle to hold onto Home Place, the beloved Sussex estate that has been their refuge and their heart. Against the titanic sweep of history, as they are tested by infidelities, divorce, unimaginable loss, and the promise of renewed love, the Cazalets try to cast off the sins and sorrows of the past and sail bravely toward the future.
format_category_pitkin Books, eBook
format_pitkin Book, eBook
id 6027f144-5acb-9c4a-c1cb-b47e9d37fa69
isbn 9780671534301, 9781504034944
item_details hoopla:MWT11593170||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11593170||Available Online||||, ils:.b15681944|.i18715631|Pitkin County Library|FICTION H8485ca4|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||pc||
itype_pitkin , Adult book
last_indexed 2019-03-21T10:37:26.501Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_pitkin FICTION H8485ca4
owning_library_pitkin Pitkin County Library
owning_location_pitkin Pitkin Library
primary_isbn 9780671534301
publishDate 1996, 2016
record_details hoopla:MWT11593170|eBook|eBook||English|Open Road Media,|2016.|1 online resource, ils:.b15681944|Book|Books||English|Pocket Books,|1996.|482 pages ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_pitkin
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11593170 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
ils:.b15681944 .i18715631 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 96, 97, 98, 99
series Cazalet chronicles
series_with_volume Cazalet chronicles|4
subject_facet Electronic books, Families -- England -- Sussex -- Fiction, Historical fiction, London (England) -- Fiction, Sussex (England) -- Fiction, War stories, World War, 1939-1945 -- England -- Sussex -- Fiction
title_display Casting off
title_full Casting off / Elizabeth Jane Howard, Casting off [electronic resource] / Elizabeth Jane Howard
title_short Casting off
topic_facet Electronic books, Families, World War, 1939-1945