The Tumbling Turner Sisters: A Book Club Recommendation!

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Gallery Books
Pub. Date:
2016
Language:
English
Description
For fans of Orphan Train and Water for Elephants , a compelling historical novel from "one of the best authors of women's fiction" ( Library Journal ). Set against the turbulent backdrop of American Vaudeville, four sisters embark on an unexpected adventure--and a last-ditch effort to save their family. It's 1919, and the Turners are barely scraping by. When their father loses his job, their irrepressible mother decides that vaudeville is their best chance to make the rent--and create a more exciting life for herself in the process. Traveling by train from town to town, teenagers Gert, Winnie, and Kit, and recent widow Nell soon find a new kind of freedom in the company of performers who are as diverse as their acts. There is a seamier side to the business, however, and the young women face dangers and turns of fate they never could have anticipated. Heartwarming and surprising, The Tumbling Turner Sisters is ultimately a story of awakening--to unexpected possibilities, to love and heartbreak, and to the dawn of a new American era.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501134487
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 757bd5c3-1611-37ee-e1c3-39dc0649e011
full_title tumbling turner sisters a book club recommendation
author fay juliette
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2018-04-19 01:16:48AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Juliette Fay
author_display Juliette Fay
available_at_pitkin Online OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_pitkin Online OverDrive Collection
display_description For fans of Orphan Train and Water for Elephants, a compelling historical novel from "one of the best authors of women's fiction" (Library Journal). Set against the turbulent backdrop of American Vaudeville, four sisters embark on an unexpected adventure—and a last-ditch effort to save their family.
It's 1919, and the Turners are barely scraping by. When their father loses his job, their irrepressible mother decides that vaudeville is their best chance to make the rent—and create a more exciting life for herself in the process.

Traveling by train from town to town, teenagers Gert, Winnie, and Kit, and recent widow Nell soon find a new kind of freedom in the company of performers who are as diverse as their acts. There is a seamier side to the business, however, and the young women face dangers and turns of fate they never could have anticipated. Heartwarming and surprising, The Tumbling Turner Sisters is ultimately a story of awakening—to unexpected possibilities, to love and heartbreak, and to the dawn of a new American era.
format_category_pitkin eBook
format_pitkin eBook
id 757bd5c3-1611-37ee-e1c3-39dc0649e011
isbn 9781501134487
item_details overdrive:1cb05a44-45db-4993-aee0-24ea8ae8bfcf|12|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_pitkin
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_pitkin Online OverDrive
local_time_since_added_pitkin Year
owning_library_pitkin Pitkin County Library Online
owning_location_pitkin Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn 9781501134487
publishDate 2016
record_details overdrive:1cb05a44-45db-4993-aee0-24ea8ae8bfcf|eBook|eBook||English|Gallery Books|2016|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_pitkin overdrive:1cb05a44-45db-4993-aee0-24ea8ae8bfcf|12|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|true||||
title_display The Tumbling Turner Sisters
title_full The Tumbling Turner Sisters A Book Club Recommendation!
title_short The Tumbling Turner Sisters
title_sub A Book Club Recommendation!
topic_facet Fiction, Historical Fiction, Literature